Re Rev 2 Re5 Re6 Continuity
-
Welcome to the Resident Evil Community Forum!
We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Resident Evil series and video gaming.
Register Log in
- Home
- Forums
- Resident Evil Games: 2001-2010
- Resident Evil 5
You should upgrade or use an alternative browser.
Resident Evil 5 RE5 or RE6?
- Thread starter black 93
- Start date
- #21
- Joined
- Jun 6, 2016
- Messages
- 1,578
- Reaction score
- 1,646
- Points
- 15,462
- Age
- 35
I'm not arguing, but can you shed some light on to why you liked 6 better than these two titles?
- #22
- Joined
- Sep 4, 2013
- Messages
- 2,600
- Reaction score
- 2,941
- Points
- 28,076
- #23
- Joined
- May 28, 2012
- Messages
- 1,413
- Reaction score
- 1,701
- Points
- 27,928
For me, RE4 strayed too far from the other games too fast (both mechanically and narratively), and RE5 just felt like another attempt at that. It still used pretty much all of the same mechanics I didn't like in 4, though it at least tried harder to connect itself with the rest of the story in a more meaningful way than just using a few of the characters. In both games, I always felt like I was fighting the aiming, and they felt like they were under water all the time (more RE4 than 5 there).Interesting. Considering 4 has been established as a breakthrough rebranding of the series and 5 is the best seller of the whole series, I feel a lot of people at least liked them.I'm not arguing, but can you shed some light on to why you liked 6 better than these two titles?
With RE6, they again tried a little harder to tie it into the older games, but they also revamped the control scheme in a way that I genuinely enjoyed and still do to this day. I don't hate 4 and 5, but I definitely don't enjoy them in the same way I do 6.
- #24
- Joined
- Aug 30, 2016
- Messages
- 6
- Reaction score
- 3
- Points
- 157
- Age
- 41
Forgive me for being a bit to harsh, but that's what I've observed from the playthru.
(Runs out of the room)
- #25
- Joined
- Jun 9, 2017
- Messages
- 284
- Reaction score
- 107
- Points
- 2,088
- Age
- 32
- #26
JHJ
"Doth Mother Know You Weareth Her Drapes?"
- Joined
- Apr 26, 2016
- Messages
- 215
- Reaction score
- 141
- Points
- 9,955
- Age
- 34
RE6 had a better control scheme, but it was attached to what felt like an unfinished game, and like Rafterman said, Leons campaign is the only one that at least tried to get back to the series original core concept, although they s**t the bed towards the end with Simmons.
RE5, whilst a retread of 4, had a better story premise (leaving aside the racism row that erupted after its release for now), but the controls and Sheva's abysmal AI in the single-player derails the entire game for me.
- #27
- Joined
- Jun 9, 2017
- Messages
- 284
- Reaction score
- 107
- Points
- 2,088
- Age
- 32
- #28
JHJ
"Doth Mother Know You Weareth Her Drapes?"
- Joined
- Apr 26, 2016
- Messages
- 215
- Reaction score
- 141
- Points
- 9,955
- Age
- 34
I never understood the uproar about the game supposedly being "racist". I mean really just because it was set in Africa and had African zombies? I can think of things in real life that are far more racist than a video game about zombies and I think that some people are just way too sensitive for their own good.
You bring up a somewhat valid point, but I think the main reason people were crying racism was because the game had a Caucasian man shooting African people and packaged it up as entertainment (which is weird because Call of Duty has done MUCH worse over the years). That and the fact that when the game came out, we were still in the middle of a highly controversial war in the Middle East, so the timing couldn't have been worse.
- #29
- Joined
- Sep 4, 2013
- Messages
- 2,600
- Reaction score
- 2,941
- Points
- 28,076
You bring up a somewhat valid point, but I think the main reason people were crying racism was because the game had a Caucasian man shooting African people and packaged it up as entertainment (which is weird because Call of Duty has done MUCH worse over the years). That and the fact that when the game came out, we were still in the middle of a highly controversial war in the Middle East, so the timing couldn't have been worse.
The game isn't even remotely racist. Anyone who thought so was an idiot who either never played the series before or just an uptight sensitive asshole looking for something to be upset about. I even wonder how many black people were actually offended by the game or if it was just yet again, dumb white people trying to be offended for everyone.
- #30
- Joined
- Jun 9, 2017
- Messages
- 284
- Reaction score
- 107
- Points
- 2,088
- Age
- 32
I still say it's bologna. I'm more in favor of realism over political correctness and I feel that if the developers were allowed to make the kind of game they originally intended to make people would have realized it still wasn't racist at all and that it may have potentially been a better game.You bring up a somewhat valid point, but I think the main reason people were crying racism was because the game had a Caucasian man shooting African people and packaged it up as entertainment (which is weird because Call of Duty has done MUCH worse over the years). That and the fact that when the game came out, we were still in the middle of a highly controversial war in the Middle East, so the timing couldn't have been worse.
- #31
JHJ
"Doth Mother Know You Weareth Her Drapes?"
- Joined
- Apr 26, 2016
- Messages
- 215
- Reaction score
- 141
- Points
- 9,955
- Age
- 34
The game isn't even remotely racist. Anyone who thought so was an idiot who either never played the series before or just an uptight sensitive asshole looking for something to be upset about. I even wonder how many black people were actually offended by the game or if it was just yet again, dumb white people trying to be offended for everyone.
I still say it's bologna. I'm more in favor of realism over political correctness and I feel that if the developers were allowed to make the kind of game they originally intended to make people would have realized it still wasn't racist at all and that it may have potentially been a better game.
I agree with both of you. I didn't get a racist vibe from the game, but some people go out of their way to find racism in everything. I honestly think it was mainly a case of bad timing with the games release.
And like I said, CoD did worse, like No Russian, for example. The controversy that level caused was more justifiable, in my opinion, because it's just excessive, and more importantly, unnecessary. The overall story doesn't suffer from its exclusion.
RE5 doesn't have that issue.
- #32
- Joined
- Jul 29, 2012
- Messages
- 2,368
- Reaction score
- 3,334
- Points
- 25,539
Personally, I would have found it more racist if all the African zombies in RE5 had been white. Because while not everyone you meet in Africa is dark-skinned, the majority of people are, and it's most likely one of the first things that come to your mind when you're told to imagine a native African, or even an African-American. So if there was a zombie virus outbreak in, say, Somalia, then realistically, a majority of those zombies would be black. Making them white instead would be like the developers saying: "We don't want dark-skinned people in our game, not even as the evil things you're supposed to kill, even though we're in a location where it would make total sense." Now that would be racist, right?
But I suppose I wouldn't have too much of a problem with that either because I'm not looking for an excuse to be mad. I just want to play a fun game.
- #33
- Joined
- Jun 9, 2017
- Messages
- 284
- Reaction score
- 107
- Points
- 2,088
- Age
- 32
I agree with both of you. I didn't get a racist vibe from the game, but some people go out of their way to find racism in everything. I honestly think it was mainly a case of bad timing with the games release.And like I said, CoD did worse, like No Russian, for example. The controversy that level caused was more justifiable, in my opinion, because it's just excessive, and more importantly, unnecessary. The overall story doesn't suffer from its exclusion.
RE5 doesn't have that issue.
Not that I've ever played Call of Duty (it's a game franchise that will never appeal to me) but didn't they also cause a controversial uproar by releasing a game that allowed you to play as the taliban or al queda (don't remember which) in the middle east? I heard that the game got banned in military bases because of that.
- #34
JHJ
"Doth Mother Know You Weareth Her Drapes?"
- Joined
- Apr 26, 2016
- Messages
- 215
- Reaction score
- 141
- Points
- 9,955
- Age
- 34
It seems to me that in most cases, the real racists are the ones who call everything racist, because it only shows their tendency to see the entire world in black and white - literally. Can anyone tell me the exact number of blond zombies you shot in the last zombie horror game you played, compared to the amount of dark-haired zombies? You probably can't because you didn't even pay much attention, and you didn't pay attention because you're not on a desperate quest to find something potentially offensive to complain about. In a world where people aren't judged based on their race, the colour of their skin doesn't matter any more than that of their hair.Personally, I would have found it more racist if all the African zombies in RE5 had been white. Because while not everyone you meet in Africa is dark-skinned, the majority of people are, and it's most likely one of the first things that come to your mind when you're told to imagine a native African, or even an African-American. So if there was a zombie virus outbreak in, say, Somalia, then realistically, a majority of those zombies would be black. Making them white instead would be like the developers saying: "We don't want dark-skinned people in our game, not even as the evil things you're supposed to kill, even though we're in a location where it would make total sense." Now that would be racist, right?
But I suppose I wouldn't have too much of a problem with that either because I'm not looking for an excuse to be mad. I just want to play a fun game.
This.
Not that I've ever played Call of Duty (it's a game franchise that will never appeal to me) but didn't they also cause a controversial uproar by releasing a game that allowed you to play as the taliban or al queda (don't remember which) in the middle east? I heard that the game got banned in military bases because of that.
I think that was just a rumour, and it might have been about Medal of Honour rather than Call of Duty, but don't quote me on that (if anybody knows for sure, please let us know).
- #35
- Joined
- Feb 26, 2015
- Messages
- 233
- Reaction score
- 93
- Points
- 5,438
We live in a world where the biggest consumer of video games, the US, has become the single most PC nation in the world, to the point of irrational, illogical, and downright retarded, so much so that that comment would get me a whole lot of labels regarding insensitivity, and ironically, all the comments I'd get would be so much more brutal and insensitive than what I said.I never understood the uproar about the game supposedly being "racist"
Killing black people in video games, even if they're trying to kill you, are mutated, zombies, terrorists, or just average a**holes, is not PC. That's all. That's why most games have you kill faceless hordes, zombies, nazis, or aliens, to avoid having to deal with whinnying.
- #36
- Joined
- Jun 9, 2017
- Messages
- 284
- Reaction score
- 107
- Points
- 2,088
- Age
- 32
We live in a world where the biggest consumer of video games, the US, has become the single most PC nation in the world, to the point of irrational, illogical, and downright retarded, so much so that that comment would get me a whole lot of labels regarding insensitivity, and ironically, all the comments I'd get would be so much more brutal and insensitive than what I said.Killing black people in video games, even if they're trying to kill you, are mutated, zombies, terrorists, or just average a**holes, is not PC. That's all. That's why most games have you kill faceless hordes, zombies, nazis, or aliens, to avoid having to deal with whinnying.
I get it, in other words killing nothing but whities is the only way to not offend anybody.
- #37
- Joined
- Feb 26, 2015
- Messages
- 233
- Reaction score
- 93
- Points
- 5,438
I'd like to say no but... well, yeah.I get it, in other words killing nothing but whities is the only way to not offend anybody.
You know. When I saw the very first trailer of RE5 I thought it was going to take place in Mexico and I got super excited for a major AAA title to take place there. The thought of Chris, a white dude who's only part Tomahawk, and provably not even in canon, killing my people because he's a racist never occurred to me.Mexican zombies, that's what I was excited about. And, no, just because the previous game had Spanish speaking enemies doesn't make it the same.
Of Course, then it turned out to be Africa and I was a little disappointed but c'est la vie.
- #38
- Joined
- Jul 29, 2012
- Messages
- 2,368
- Reaction score
- 3,334
- Points
- 25,539
I got super excited for a major AAA title to take place there.
If you're into Tomb Raider, try Underworld. One of the levels is set in South Mexico where Lara sets out to explore the Mayan underworld Xibalbá.
Chris, a white dude who's only part Tomahawk, and provably not even in canon
Wait, what? Isn't a tomahawk a weapon?
If you're wondering if Chris is of a mixed race, I believe that idea came from Romero giving him Native American roots in his rejected movie script, but in the games, no, I don't believe he was ever stated to be anything but white. I'm also still trying to find out if Jill is actually half-French and half-Japanese, but I can't even remember anymore where I got that from.
- #39
- Joined
- Feb 26, 2015
- Messages
- 233
- Reaction score
- 93
- Points
- 5,438
I did say tomahawk, didn't I. I meant Mohawk.
Anyway, That's why I said it wasn't even canon.
Not really but I have nothing personally against them, I just don't go out of my way to play them. I'll look around. If I see a copy I might snatch it.Tomb Raider, try Underworld
- #40
- Joined
- Mar 19, 2015
- Messages
- 897
- Reaction score
- 701
- Points
- 14,468
- Age
- 34
- Home
- Forums
- Resident Evil Games: 2001-2010
- Resident Evil 5
- This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
Source: https://residentevil.org/forums/threads/re5-or-re6.8606/page-2
0 Response to "Re Rev 2 Re5 Re6 Continuity"
Post a Comment